Sonar: For Bats, Boats and?.Bacteria?

Wait what? That’s right, today I did some sonicating. Remember that one thing called sonar? Something releases a high frequency sound wave, it bounces off something, and then bounces back, helping that thing realize where it is, or something like that. Well today I got to sonicate, if that’s the right verb. I had to wear some headphones so that the high frequency didn’t hurt my ears, but I took this probe and put it in my solution of bacteria and protein, and then used it to denature the cell walls of the bacteria and the extra debris that we didnt want. With the frequency of the sonar being so high, and the bacteria so small, the bacteria were killed and our proteins were left.
Also, it is possible I successfully expressed another protein (hazah)! Remember LSM1 (that pesky little rascal that semi worked last time)? Well it worked better this time! So now with both that and DCP1 working for the most part, we are going to purify these proteins. I’m not fully sure how that process works yet, or exactly what it does, but as I am sure you are as eager as I am to find out, I will let you know as soon as I do.
While working today we watched some of the world cup games going on (go USA!). It was a nice bonding moment for the lab. Anyone else keeping up with the soccer matches?
Oh, and to let everyone know, I will be out of town for the next week, so my next post will be in a week (next Thursday). I hope everyone’s week is dandy!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

