Hello from Seattle-Tacoma International Airport

It was a short night or maybe I should say a long evening.  Finished packing and left for Denver International Airport at 5 am so I could catch my 8 am flight.  Alaska Airlines got an extra $150 out of me to pay for my 4 bags-YIKES!  My next flight will be to Fairbanks and then I will take another flight to Barrow and should arrive in the early evening Barrow time.  Alaska Airlines offers 2, sometimes 3 daily flights on Boeing 737-800’s into Barrow.  In addition, Frontier Flying Service offers daily flights on twin engine aircraft.  There are no roads to Barrow, so everything is flown in or arrives via supply barges in the late summer.  One of the barges that arrived last summer was named “Greta”-I think it is a sign that I am meant to work in Barrow!  The weather in Barrow today is light snow with winds out of the northeast so that it feels like it is 18 degrees.

One of the daily flights into Anchorage uses a modified aircraft with room for cargo in the front of the aircraft.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

